This page is supposed to tell you all about who I am and what I do.

I can tell you quite easily who I am - I am a 39 year old woman, who lives in the East Midlands region of the UK, with a loving partner and a grumpy cat.  I grew up in North Yorkshire, which is a very beautiful place, filled with lots of the people I love, many of which are still living there.  But, I went away to university in Leicester, and stayed there, in a place I have grown to love.

But as for what I do - for a very long time, I wouldn't have known how to fill this section in, because I don't work, I have no children and I certainly don't do any housework!

I had to give up work in 2001 because of ill health, and when I got worse, instead of better, I really didn't know who I was. I felt that I had no purpose, because I didn't fit into any of the traditional concepts of "useful member of society".

Slowly over the following years I started to look at things that could fill my empty seeming days.  I searched for ways to stimulate my brain and occupy my hands.  I started to explore my long denied creativity (before illness I worked in the Financial Services industry).  I became interested in ways that I could make things that were beautiful but also useful.  I really wanted make something that had a purpose.  The purpose part of my creativity was very important to me, and that is why I began to explore "crafts".  I started to make things, and when I acknowledged to myself that the things that I made had a place in the world, I came to realise that I was somebody.  I finally knew that I had a purpose and an identity.

If you are curious about what my physical problems are, I have written a blog post about my medical condition.  If you have a strong stomach you can check it out.  But remember, you have been warned - there are photos!

If you ever want to talk to me then I recommend emailing me at

All of my online locations can be found here:


Related Posts with Thumbnails